Reading, Social Media, and Selfies

Science-of-Sleep

 

 

 

 

 

 

So I was laying in bed thinking and couldn’t sleep, and I decided to come here to process some thoughts. I guess that is what blogs are for! Apologies in advance for possible random and crazy late night thoughts.

Today I finished reading The Fault in Our Stars on my new kindle. First of all, I am LOVING having more time and motivation to read for fun these days. Ever since graduation, I have rediscovered this hobby. During undergrad, it was that last thing I wanted to do. I have been blessed to be in a graduate program that allows me to be a little more relaxed, and I still have some energy for reading after studying. Anyway, this book was great, and I’d highly recommend it. I would just suggest you have some kleenex handy for the end, and do not read in a public place. Also, you may re-evaluate your life after reading it.

As some of you know, my husband’s job has changed a little bit recently, and it has caused our daily routine to be flipped upside down. He gets up super early and goes to bed very early also. I am not a morning person, but a night owl, so this poses a challenge for me. It has been hard for me to adjust my schedule to his. Like tonight, when he went to bed at 8:30 and I’m still here writing at midnight. It probably does not help that I sleep in way too late in the morning to adjust my body to his schedule. His new job duties have also changed the time that we have together. We had developed somewhat of a married routine in the past year, and now it is all new and different. I do not enjoy change. It takes me a while to get adjusted and to feel happy and comfortable. Which is probably one of the reasons I am awake right now and couldn’t fall asleep because I was re-evaluating my life. This is a normal thing for me.

Also lately I have been feeling opposed to social media because I feel like it is taking over my/our lives. Personally, I can stand to not look at Instagram every 10 minutes. It just makes me want things that other people have and think about how pathetic it is that I am sitting on the couch in my pajamas at 3 PM eating pizza and procrastinating my homework. We can’t all be fashion stylists living in California, and it doesn’t help to remind myself every time I’m on Instagram. Fashion is also annoying because I can never just accumulate all the clothes and say, that’s it, I now own everything I need to be fashionable! No, it doesn’t work that way! They just keep coming out with more and more clothes, and I can never keep up! You just have to keep buying more! Who planned this!? (Some smart business people). Some days I just want to get rid of all my social media and TV and blogs that I follow and just live in bliss not knowing that I’m missing out on the current sale at Asos. On the other hand, I really enjoy learning about fashion and looking at the beautiful people with long flowing hair, Louboutins, and Chanel bags.

Let me talk about selfies now. Personally, I don’t have a problem with the occasional selfie. I like to admire you when you were feeling particularly beautiful, and to let you know that I agree that your lipstick is fabulous, and also, where can I buy it. I also like to show the world that my outfit is awesome, and if I don’t post a picture, no one will see it since I’m stuck inside all day. Thank you in advance for “liking” it and reassuring me that someone else cares about my freshly painted nails. Just keep your selfies to a weekly basis so I’m not bombarded by your gorgeous face too often and become numb to your beauty.

Lastly, I’ve decided to give up social media for two weeks. Finals are important and reading about the lives of high school people I never talked to is not. Also, it’s not warm enough to wear summer clothes yet here, and these Cali people are just torturing me with their shorts and Coachella shopping sprees. Thank you for listening, now I can go to sleep in peace. Night!

P.S. If you’ve ever watched Friends, I just heard an exact replica outside of the car alarm that kept going off in that one episode where the girls were camping out outside of a store to buy something (I don’t remember what it was). If you’re a Friends fanatic, you’ll know what I mean.

Kristyn

Leave a Reply

