Sugar Detox- Day 3

IMG_4313

Day 3!!! This morning was great. Brent and I enjoyed cooking some omelettes and bacon together. You would not believe how hard it is to find sugar-free bacon! It’s almost impossible. To be honest, the bacon we had contained less than 1 gram of evaporated cane sugar. Cane sugar is still bad, but is much better than white sugar. It was also the last ingredient on the list. I decided to only have a few bites and then I felt too guilty. Technically I messed up, but I’m not going to let that stop me!

Last night, Brent and I had to fight the urge to go get ice cream, but after about 15 minutes we were over the craving. It’s just because of our weekend habit of going out for dessert, and a lot of activities on a Friday night involve food. We were able to stay strong, and we had some peppered popcorn while watching TV.

IMG_4318

Tonight, we treated ourselves by going out to get burgers at Red Robin. In order to avoid sugar, we asked for our burgers wrapped in lettuce instead of the bun, which Red Robin actually does fairly often. We also did not add seasoning to our fries because it contained a disguised sugar ingredient, and we did not have ketchup. I gotta tell you, it was harder than I expected not to have ketchup! I actually squirted some on my plate, dipped my fry in it, and had my mouth open ready to eat it before Brent stopped me. He talked me out of it, and I’m so glad he did! Although I really needed something for those plain fries and I did miss it, I’m glad I didn’t give in. Ketchup is basically all high fructose corn syrup, which is one of the worst sugars for your body. You can see the proof in my photo that I did not eat it! I should have gotten a photo when the food arrived, but I was starving and couldn’t wait a second.

To be clear, we are not completely eliminating all sugars. We are only allowing natural sugars into our diet, such as those in fruits and vegetables. We technically could have honey or maple syrup if they were raw and pure, but for this detox we decided the natural sugar content is still very high and we decided to avoid it. I also allowed myself some crackers that are made of brown rice, almonds, and other natural ingredients. No added sugars or fake ingredients involved.

I’m proud of us for getting through three days semi-easily, and I’m motivated for the next 7 days. Woohoo! Feeling good! (I also lost some more weight today, although that is not the goal of this detox.)

Day 3 Meals:

Breakfast- omelette with green pepper, onion, ham, and cheese, 1 piece of bacon

Lunch- Salami and cheese on some rice/almond crackers, mixed fruit (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries)

Dinner- Red Robin burger wrapped in lettuce with red onions, mustard, and pickles, plain french fries

Snacks- spoonful of peanut butter, popcorn

Leave a Reply

