No Sugar- Halfway Through!

red_cup_08

Day five complete! There’s no turning back now that we’re halfway through! Today was the first day doing the challenge while being at school all day. It got a little difficult when I was starving around dinnertime and didn’t have any food packed. I ended up going to Five Guys and getting a burger wrapped in lettuce and some fries. For those of you who are gluten free or want to eliminate some carbs and calories, Five Guys and Red Robin both do burgers wrapped in lettuce regularly. It cuts out like 300 calories and a bunch of sugar without the bun!

I have to tell you though, I was really wanting ketchup with my burger and fries today. I went to Whole Foods this afternoon looking around for no added sugar ketchup that I could bring with me. I had one in my hand and was walking up to the register when I took a second look at the label. I saw “maltodextrin”, and wasn’t sure if that was another secret word for sugar. I looked on the Fed Up documentary website at their list of 56 hidden words for sugar. Sure enough, there it was. Sadly, I have not found any ketchup with no added sugars, but I plan to stick with a low sugar ketchup after the challenge.

50 Hidden Words for Sugar: http://fedup.s3.amazonaws.com/2014/09/Hidden-Sugar-.jpg

I also really wanted some coffee today, but normally I’m a cream and sugar girl. I got it black today at Starbucks because they did not have any unsweetened milk. I’m sorry but I just can’t do coffee without some added sugar! Whether it be cream or sugar, I gotta have it! I even went to Whole Foods yet a second time today after I ordered it to get some unsweetened almond milk to add, but it really did not help the flavor. Now I know what my treat will be once this challenge is over! I’ll be heading out to get the coveted Starbucks peppermint mocha in the red cup next Sunday.

Tomorrow I plan on making homemade no sugar granola that I can have with unsweetened almond milk and fruit in the morning. Sounds like something I would eat after the challenge too! I’m also excited about making ribs with a homemade sugar free BBQ sauce on Friday as a “we are almost done” reward. Here are some recipes below for what I plan on making. I’ll let you know how it tastes!

Recipes:

http://www.5dollardinners.com/homemade-granola-sugar-free/

http://arealfoodlover.wordpress.com/2012/05/16/the-worlds-best-barbeque-sauce-sugar-free/

Day 5 Meals:

Breakfast- apple and peanut butter

Lunch- cajun turkey, cheese, and mustard wrapped in lettuce, mixed nuts, coffee with almond milk

Dinner- Five Guys burger with onions and mustard wrapped in lettuce, fries

Snacks- pineapple, strawberries, blackberries, strawberries

Leave a Reply

